Bunco & Greek Dip

bunco!About once a month, a bunch of us get together and play Bunco. I think I have mentioned this before. Everybody brings an appetizer and something to drink; then – we eat, we laugh and we play Bunco.

The dilemma I always have is deciding what appetizer I am going to bring. In the past I have utilized my arson of dips, cheese balls and bruschetta…but this time I wanted to make something different. I was prowling around on the internet and came across a recipe for this Greek dip. Its like this Mexican Layer Dip, except Greek style. DSC_0076_fotor_fotor

IMG_4053

I served it with these pita chips … (can you guys tell I am totally stalking the Pioneer Woman right now?). It was tasty! Now I just need to figure out what I am going to make next month…. 🙂

Greek Dip

(Adapted from Our Best Bites)

  • 1 8-oz. package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tsp. dill weed 
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 c. hummus 
  • 1 c. diced cucumbers
  • 1 c. diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 c. chopped Kalamata olives
  • 1/3 c. chopped green onions 
  • 1/2 c. crumbled Feta cheese
  • 1/8-1/4 c. minced fresh parsley

With an electric mixer, combine the cream cheese, dill, garlic, and lemon juice until light and fluffy. Spread in the bottom of a small, shallow baking dish. Then spread a layer of hummus. In order, create layers by sprinkling the cucumbers, tomatoes, olives, onions, Feta cheese, and parsley. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for at least 2 hours. Serve with pita chips, fresh vegetables, and/or flatbread.


IMG_4063_fotor

These guys were excited about the Greek Dip…but they didn’t get any.

If you go to Bunco, I would also recommend having a Kalimoxo – OR have your friend make you a Moscow Mule. What fun!!

IMG_4064

Ciao! 🙂

Leave a Reply

