My Plants are Dying – So I Made Chocolate Pistachio Salted Cookies

DSC_0021_fotorThat title totally got you – didn’t it? I had a reality check this week and finally got rid of some of my plants that had died. Their untimely death could be due to the cold, the week they went without water or maybe bad karma? I don’t know. Either way, I thought I would photograph the survivors because I’m not feeling very optimistic about their livelihood at this point.DSC_0038_fotor_fotor DSC_0038_fotor0_fotorTo cope with my grief, I spent the afternoon making these cookies. It also happened to be bunco night! This was a definite bonus because the Biologist and I probably would have eaten all of them otherwise. My obsession with pistachios is no secret. Combining them with chocolate? GAH! IMG_4242_fotor IMG_4249

Chocolate Pistachio Salted Cookies

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick)  unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used semisweet, but the original recipe calls for dark)
  • 1 cup shelled pistachios, coarsely chopped
  • coarse salt for topping (sea salt if you have it)

Put rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 300 degrees F.

Using mixer, beat butter and sugars together until fluffy – about 4 minutes. Beat in egg.  Add vanilla extract and mix well.

In a separate bowl, whisk together dry items – flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add the mixture all at once to the butter/sugar mixture.  Beat on low speed until everything is incorporated.  Mix in chocolate chips and nuts.

Scoop cookie dough by the 2 tablespoonfuls onto cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Make sure to leave about 2 inches of room between each cookie (they need room!).  Sprinkle generously with salt.

Bake cookies for 18 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove and allow to cool for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  ENJOY!

Yield: 24 cookies

(Adapted from Joy the Baker, Smitten Kitchen)

Oh! And if you wondered what the weather is like here…a few days ago it looked like the top photo and the very next morning was the bottom photo. Eeek!IMG_4247_fotor

2 thoughts on “My Plants are Dying – So I Made Chocolate Pistachio Salted Cookies

  1. Pingback: The Oven is Broken | LIQUID SUNSHINE

  2. Pingback: The Best of 2014 | LIQUID SUNSHINE

Leave a Reply

