Wearable Art Show Reminiscing

howsweeteats.com-1

The Wearable Art Show was this weekend. I was unable to attend this year, which was a huge bummer. For those of you who don’t know, the Wearable Art Show is a local, world-famous fashion parade. (world-famous might be a slight exaggeration, but bear with me here) People make costumes, there is runway, music and $$ gets raised for charity . It is entertaining, interesting and inspiring to see what kind of organic couture the locals conjure up. Fashion + Alaska = Entertainment.

Last year I made an outfit for the show. It took two months, three broken sewing machine needles, 500+ red feathers, too much silk, leather and a bottle of tequila. My friend Gio and I came up with the Icarus-themed idea inspired by Alexander McQueen and Mr. Universe.ย IMG_2600_fotor I learned so many things doing this project. The primary lesson being how to replace a needle on my sewing machine. Other then Ben Franklin, there isn’t a craft store here, so I had to get creative with things and do some serious planning/ordering. It was stressful. On a few different occasions, I found myself on the verge of tears, surrounded by hundreds of feathers, glitter and pleather feeling totally overwhelmed. You have no idea how much work it is to baste feathers to satin until you do it. It was a project that forced me out of my comfort zone in a lot of ways, which I think is actually really good thing.IMG_2608

Gio did a really amazing job wearing the costume. Even though it is a year later, I am really proud of all the work that we did. I love projects that make you learn, think and grow.ย DSC_0009_fotor IMG_2650 DSC_0012_fotorWhat are you working on that is challenging you?

Leave a Reply

