Sew Nerdy: A Review

When we moved into our little beach Mcmansion several months ago, I knew we were going to need some new decor. The sliding glass doors needed some curtains and I really wanted some new covers for our throw pillows. We were up to our elbows in trailer transformation and I didn’t have much time to shop online (that’s the only way to do it when you live on an island in Alaska). SO – I enlisted the assistance of my friend Christina and her shop Sew Nerdy.

sewnerdy1

Christina is one of the most talented people I know. She creates things like throw pillows, duvet covers, window treatments, book bags and many other lovely things. Her prices are incredibly reasonable and I was impressed with how quickly she got things done. Since there isn’t a fabric store nearby, I sent Christina some ideas from my Pinterest board and told her what I wanted. This was difficult because apparently I have a streak of Veruca Salt and basically wanted everything sans golden goose.

veruca-salt-o

She was really cool about working with my high maintenance-ness and I LOVED all the fabric swatches she sent me photos of.  I picked out my favorites and VIOLA! A short time later there was a box of new curtains and pillows on our doorstep. We have gotten a lot of compliments on the pillows and especially, the curtains. I always tell people that my friend made them and they are impressed. curtaincollage

With the availability of huge box stores and Amazon, I think people tend to forget that they can get affordable, handmade goods at good prices. Homemade things add so much more personality. I also think it’s really important to support craftiness. Making, creating and sharing is so important!

sewnerdy2

So. If you are in need of some new curtains, pillows or some eclectic flair for your home – check out Christina’s shop! Or if you want to come over and admire my curtains while we lounge on the fabulous pillows – that’s fine too.

Cheers! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sew Nerdy: A Review

  1. 1. Definitely going to check out Christina’s shop.

    2. Obsessed with that Veruca Salt GIF.

    3. Equally as obsessed with your blog’s new header.

Leave a Reply

