Whales

If I am being honest…I don’t always like it here. Some days (especially now) I feel wary of the short days, long nights and bone chilling humidity. Some days I want to drive more than sixteen miles and go to Starbucks or Target. I want to not worry about things like bears in the garbage and mold growing in the back room because we didn’t run the dehumidifier enough.

But.

Last night we had so much fun with our friends at the Pub. This morning, I literally shook off my fat at Shannons class. The sun came out. I made a wicked healthy breakfast burrito. The Biologist and I took out the boat. We heard them….we saw them.

whales from megan johnson on Vimeo.

All these lovely things make being here worth it.

Especially the whales. They smell like brine, fish and Megaptera novaeangliae. They remind me that I am small, life is big….it is huge, crazy, and amazing. I am choosing to be here and it is phenomenal. Every breath is a grand, spurting gift.

I would take a pod of whales over my beloved pumpkin spice latte any time!

Cheers! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Whales

  1. Perfection. I know there will be up and downs while living here. I have to remind myself of all the opportunities I would miss if I weren’t willing to sacrifice a bit of “normal”. Also, I had an eggnog latte here yesterday that had me thinking I was back in New England. It was wicked awesome.

  2. Pingback: The Best of 2014 | LIQUID SUNSHINE

Leave a Reply

