Christmas Elves

elves3

Waaaaayyyyy back in the day when I was in a little girl, I went to a party with my Mom. I don’t really remember the details, but I got to pick out these little elf ornaments to take home. Every year at Christmas, the elves were my thing. I would take them out of their white styrofoam box, dust them off and set them up somewhere around the house. When the holidays were over, I would pack them up and make sure they were safe and sound for next year.ย This might sound silly but seeing the elves was something that I looked forward too. It made things feel like Christmas.

elves2

Fast forward through the wonder years, and I found myself continually managing the elves’ place in our holiday decor. Even in college, my Mom would leave them in the box and I would pop them out when I got home for winter break. She gave them to me after I got my own home and moved into the status of supposed adulthood.

Life happened, like it usually does, and there were a lot of crazy changes. Somewhere in that hurricane, the elves disappeared. I never forgot about them, but at Christmas I always felt sad that they were gone.

Last year I got a package in the mail. At that point it had been a few years since I had seen the elves. Imagine my surprise when I ripped away the brown paper to find a sweet little styrofoam box with three dudes sitting there smiling at me. I cried like a child because…well, apparently I still am one.

elves1

I know this story is super mushy and totally Christmas-sticky-gross – but I can’t even begin to explain what it meant to lose something like that and then get it back. I guess what I want to say is that I hope you appreciate all the silly little holiday things that end up meaning so much later on. And here is a gif because I am just getting all emotional and my cold heart is starting to unthaw.

grinch

 

Happy Holidays!

Cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

quote

3 thoughts on “Christmas Elves

  1. What a sweet story, glad it was a happy ending;-)
    Happy Chanukah and Merry Christmas my friend, sure will miss hanging out with you guys this year. Hope your dinner turns out scrumptious!!

  2. Ah you big ol’ marshmallow!! I saw the bear that graced the top of our Christmas tree when my children were little, on the top of my daughters tree this year. I have to admit I got a little mushy too. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

