Power Outages, Card Games and Manhattans

Last week the power and cell service went out for several hours. Luckily, I was at work with a generator so it (theoretically) wasn’t a big deal. The electricity snapped back on shortly before I arrived home. Upon entering our butterfly beach bungalow, I found the Biologist with a stockpile of lanterns, propane heaters and headlamps. The man was prepared!

Thank goodness he has his sh*t together – because honestly, I had not even thought about what I would do if it stayed off longer. My first thought about not having electricity was – Thank God my Kindle has a full battery! Obviously I need to work on some things because this is Alaska, life here is about survival and if I was left to my own devices I would be failing miserably.

Anyway.

IMG_0333

We played a phenomenal game of Cards Against Humanity the other night. Who doesn’t love a card game, enchiladas and manhattans? #winning

manhattan

Have you ever had a Manhattan? It was the first time I have actually made them and YES. We didn’t have any maraschino cherries, so we used slices of orange peel as a garnish. Delicious!

manhattan2

MANHATTAN

2 oz. rye whiskey
1/2 oz. sweet vermouth
3 dashes Angostura bitters
1 maraschino cherry

Mix whiskey, vermouth, and bitters in a shaker with ice. Shake it! Shake it! Like a polaroid picture. Strain into glass with ice; garnish with cherry (or orange peel – you’re welcome).

Have a good week! Hopefully our power will stay on…if not, well – my roommate is prepared.

Cheers! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

